A Fun Day in the Sun…well, maybe too much sun

It was a beautiful day to spend at the pool. I must say I took advantage of the warm water, bright sunshine, and uncrowded conditions to enjoy myself. Although, all that fun has led to some splotches of sunburn. Note to self: reapply sunscreen often when in and out of the water. I must admit that I broke my cardinal rule and stayed out longer than I had planned. Looks like the bottle of aloe and I have a date when I’m done typing!

I did get a chance to finish Deeper than Midnight this evening. It is the most recent release in Lara Adrian’s Breed series. I am happy to say that she has finally come into her own, out of the shadow of J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series. I really enjoyed Hunter’s story, and I am frustrated that we have to wait nearly a year for Chase’s story. So what do you think ladies, could Kiefer Sutherland play Hunter?? Well, I realize he may need to bulk up a bit – Hunter is more machine than man, but there may be a close resemblance there otherwise. Something to consider… Of course, Dragos is still up to no good despite a minor setback in his plans. I am sad, too, that the Order had to abandon their compound in Boston. The teaser at the end of the book had Gideon destroying the underground living space as they moved operations to Maine.

Oh, and before I forget, I finished City of Ghosts the other night. I am so hooked on Terrible and the rest of the Downside clan. The first half to two-thirds of the book drove me crazy. I completely understand why Terrible was giving Chess a rather frigid shoulder, but it didn’t make it any easier to read, especially after the events at the slaughterhouse. Needless to say, the ending was perfect with Chess choosing Terrible over Lex and even exchanging the “L” word with her new man. I can’t wait for Sacrificial Magic – the teaser is incredible. Looks like life will still be tough (and an adventure) for Chess.

Given that my battery is almost dead, I think it’s about time for that bath in aloe. Good night, all!

Leave a Reply

