Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs

Molly Harper is a master of witty and quirky! I just finished reading Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs, and I can’t tell you how many times I caught myself laughing out loud at Jane’s predicaments. While I really liked this book, I liked the Naked Werewolf series better.

Jane is a librarian in po-dunk Kentucky who is made a vampire after her car breaks down and she is shot by a drunken redneck who mistakes her for a deer (yes, I’m completely serious). Needless to say, her sire is one hunk of vampire. Gabriel is just fab! The reader learns with Jane about being a vampire – all the trials and tribulations. Of course, there is here best guy friend, Zeb, who ends up engaged to a werewolf (yes, they exist, too). There is her Aunt Jettie, who is a ghost and an absolute hoot. She is the master trixster! Plus, there are the normal villans and overbearing parents!

I’m going to share some of my favorite passages (yes, one is even from Dr. Seuss’s Green Eggs & Ham) from the book. Hopefully they will be just as funny and clever out of context as in. We shall see…

“It was then that Zeb, my best friend, the fric to my frac, the Shaggy to my Velma, fumbled through his screen door, swaying under the weight of dozens of crucifixes.”

“‘She’s been drinking the blood of older vampires for years. It makes her the equivalent of an East German gymnast,’ Dick called over his shoulder.”

“‘By the way, I’ve always wanted to tell you. Eyebrows. There should be two.'” Oddly reminiscent of Miss Congeniality if memory serves.

Hopefully now you get the idea. If you need a cute vampire story, this book is for you!

Leave a Reply

