An Education

While surfing Tumblr this evening, I can across a blogger who had shared a post by Roni Loren. (LINK: http://www.roniloren.com/blog/2012/7/20/bloggers-beware-you-can-get-sued-for-using-pics-on-your-blog.html)

It was quite eye-opening for me. She lays out very explicitly what you can legally do with photos on your blog. I admit, I thought that as long as I gave credit, I was “in the right.” Given her experiences, this is not the case. Her best piece of advice is “Assume that something is copyrighted until proven otherwise.” I am very sorry for what she went through, but I am grateful that she shared the information.

From now on, I will use photos I have taken, purchased stock photographs, or just include a link to a photo I like. I know how I would feel about someone using a paragraph I have written without consulting me first. I can definitely appreciate where photographers are coming from.

Leave a Reply

