Pressure is on…

That’s right – I’m putting a lot of pressure on myself. NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow and my murder-mystery story idea is floundering. The more I plot, the more I struggle. Also, the more frustrated I get trying to lay out the particulars of the crime and the characteristics of my suspects. I’m beginning to think that maybe I need to shelve this idea for later. If it isn’t coming now, I shouldn’t try to force it.

I finished Phantom Shadows by Dianne Duvall tonight (Bastien’s book). Oh, how I love the Immortal Guardians. When is the next book due out?? I have to know what happens to Ami! This has been such a refreshing paranormal series. I really enjoy her writing style – so smooth and everything just flows. Gives me something to aspire to (as I end my sentence with a preposition – oops!). Of Roland, Marcus, and Bastien, I think Bastien is my favorite so far. I’m very curious about Seth and David – are they ever going to find love? My fingers are crossed that they do!

See, I’ve totally gotten off track for thinking of my murder-mystery. Maybe it’s a sign. I have several unfinished pieces I could tackle as a part of NaNoWriMo. However, I was looking forward to starting and completing a novella (say 25-30K words). I’m going on a lack of sleep so maybe if I go to bed and rest my brain, lots (ok, I’ll settle for just one) of creative ideas might go floating through. Guess we shall see!

Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

