Lost Won

Lost_WonI’m so excited to have a snow day today (I get to stay home from work), but it has turned out to be a rather disappointing storm at least from where I live. We have about three to four inches of wet snow. What happened to the eight to ten we were supposed to get?? I realize it is March, and storms this time of year are hit or miss and don’t last long, but I was hoping we could get one more snow day out of it. Maybe that’s my problem – I’m being greedy. My bad. Sadly, I could use the time for my writing projects.

This weekend, Sunday in particular, I didn’t accomplish nearly as much as I wanted because I got sucked into Lost Won, book number three in the Liasions series, by S.E. Culpepper. This is an m-m romance, and I have to say, I think this book was the best of the three.

For some reason, Christian and Kevin just hit home with me. We were introduced to Christian in the last book – he was busy trying to steal Mark from Zane. Needless to say, it didn’t work. Kevin McGuire, hottie confident Marine, has been in the closet. He isn’t ashamed of his sexuality, he just believes it is something that is intensely personal, and he doesn’t want to share it with his fellow Marines, even those closest to him. He also finds as time goes on, he doesn’t know how to break the news to his sister, who is significantly younger than him.

Christian is young and was outed in the last book. He works as for a sports promotion company. He first met Kevin at a club in Cabo where he was celebrating his graduation from college. Christian was scared to death of what going with Kevin meant, but somehow he left his fear behind (at least temporarily) and spent the night with Kevin. He fled in the morning, realizing what he had done and what it meant.

This book picks up when Christian is working at a race (obstacle course kind of race) when he runs into Kevin and his buddies who are running in the race. After the way things ended in Cabo, the pair have anything but a happy reunion. I won’t spoil how things go between the two, other than to say they definitely see more of one another.

I really enjoyed how Christian has grown and matured. He also, with Mark’s encouragement, was up front and honest with Kevin. I give him lots of props for that. I also give him kudos because he finally figured out what he wanted and didn’t run at the first sign of resistance from Kevin.

Kevin faced a lot of challenges in this book. He learned how to balance privacy and a relationship. He was also forced into explaining the fact he is gay to his sister, Risa, and close friends. This definitely caused some tension and tough moments, but it was worth it (in the end).

I loved the ending and refuse to spoil it! You’ve got to read the book! Trust me, you won’t be disappointed with this installment. For more information, S.E. Culpepper can be found at http://seculpepper.com/

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

