Frost Burned

Frost_BurnedUnfortunately (or maybe fortunately in this case), I was home sick yesterday. Given that I had no energy and needed to be distracted from pain, I picked up Frost Burned (book #7 in the Mercedes Thompson series) by Patricia Briggs. Wow! Was I surprised! I couldn’t put this one down. I was kind of concerned after River Marked, but this book was a home run!

I’m not sure even where to begin. The book opens with Mercy and Jesse Black Friday shopping – never, ever thought that would happen! After Mercy wrecks her Rabbit (you’ve got to read the book to see why she does this *wink*), all sorts of things start to happen. This is one of the things I really like about Ms. Briggs’ writing – she gets right into the story and into the action. Well, not that there is ever a dull moment for Mercy!

In this case, the entire pack is kidnapped . . . with the exception of Ben, who I really like. Thankfully Gabriel is around to help out. One of the things I liked most about this book is all my favorite characters are somehow involved. Stefan is back (even though he is no longer Mr. Scooby Doo); Kyle – you go! – plays a large role; Zee makes several appearances and his son, Tad, is an integral part of the story; The Moor, Asil, comes to assist; Tony is featured when the police are involved, which happens a lot! Of course there is mention of Samuel, Charles, and Bran. Marsilia and her awesome Mercedes AMG are involved as well as some other wanna be badass vamps.

I loved the way Adam and Mercy’s love and bond has grown. She was able to do so much for her man. We learned – not like we didn’t know it before – that coyotes are tough!

I don’t want to spoil the ending, but of course Mercy gets right in the middle of something big, not only involving vamps but ghosts and a zombie fae as well. Yep, I’m not kidding on the zombie part! Our girl doesn’t end up in a wheelchair this time so all is good!

You can find Patricia at http://www.patriciabriggs.com/ Book #8 in the Mercy series is titled Night Broken.

This is a must-read. 5+ out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

