Labor Day Weekend

Monday night, and I’m getting ready to head back to work bright and early tomorrow morning. I figured I would share what has occupied my time this holiday weekend. Maybe you did some of these same things!

Friday night, I met my friend Dawn at the movies. We saw the Mortal Instruments: City of Bones. I’ve read the books and was curious about the movie. I had some concerns going into it: I wasn’t sure about some of the actors picked to play the roles. I was totally psyched about Simon, but the rest… Needless to say, I really enjoyed it. The actors pulled it off wonderfully. I think the screenplay did the book justice and kept things moving. Lots of action and great special effects. I definitely recommend seeing it. A solid 4 out of 5 stars.

Saturday, Cathy and I headed to Reston, Virginia. We stayed at the Hyatt and had fun shopping at the stores in the Reston Town Center. I confess that Athleta was my favorite. We even checked out some classic Porsches that were on display. That evening we headed to Wolf Trap for the Sound of Music Sing-A-Long. It was a blast but really hot and humid. We left at intermission. I didn’t enjoy feeling like a sardine with little leg room and hard seats. Sunday we slept in and enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the hotel. The coffee was very, very strong, but the food was delicious! We headed home after eating but made a stop along the way. The C&O Canal. We went for a walk/ run that ended up being really, really warm despite the shade. We managed 2.25 miles running and another 2.5 walking (give or take). We guzzled Gatorade once we were done and made it home without incident.

I was rewarded with a nice thunderstorm Sunday evening. I read on my balcony until the wind kicked up and blew the rain in. I managed to finish Biting Bad, Chicagoland Vampires, by Chloe Neill. A solid story. Lots of good Ethan and Merit scenes. The battle was short for my taste and the villain somewhat predictable, but otherwise no complaints. 4 out of 5 stars.

This morning was filled with errands before meeting my friend (and author) Sue Lyndon for lunch. We had a nice time catching up. After that was grocery shopping – aka torture – and them my workout at the gym. Chest and biceps went smoothly since the gym wasn’t crowded at all. I think I could really use another day off…

Leave a Reply

