Cloak and Silence

Where has the time gone today? I did manage to finish Cloak and Silence (had to take a bit of a break to charge the Kindle), and I’m now all set to start writing for NaNoWriMo (research is complete).

I wanted to share some thoughts on Sherrilyn Kenyon’s e-novella Cloak and Silence (The League Gen 1 #5). If you aren’t familiar, this story is an m-m sci-fi/ fantasy romance. I’m a huge fan of her League series and after reading Darling’s book, I was eagerly awaiting Maris’s story.

Let me start off by saying I was a bit concerned in the beginning. I felt like Ms. Kenyon’s Cloak_and_Silencewriting was choppy and rushed – the story didn’t have the polish as the other League books. However, I am happy to report that the more I read, the more things flowed. Thank goodness!!

Maris and Ture make an awesome couple – they both have baggage, but are smart, independent men who make things work. They both felt a spark from the beginning, but no insta-love here. I don’t want to spoil everything that happens, but I read the story in just over a day (yep, couldn’t put it down). The usual cast makes an appearance – Darling, Hauk, Callien, Drake…well, you get the picture. The guys deal with annoying brothers in addition to The League – all kinds of action intermixed in the story!

As a warning to diehard m-m readers, Ms. Kenyon doesn’t include lube or prep in her sex scenes between the guys. I found it awkward to read, but it didn’t slow things down too badly – it was more like “ouch, okay…moving right along with the hot guys.”

Overall, I’m happy how things worked out for Maris. She handled his love for (and ability to never have) Darling well in addition to having Ture understand the bond between the two men. I’m pleased with Maris’s story (insert a short happy dance!). He is an excellent character who wormed his way into my heart long ago. I hope he continues to make appearances in future League books.

4 out of 5 stars!

4 thoughts on “Cloak and Silence

Leave a Reply

