Review: Criminal Pleasures

Yet another book I stayed up late, reading: Criminal Pleasures by Darien Cox. I couldn’t keep my eyes open last night so I finished it this morning before going to the gym. This was definitely an enjoyable m-m romance.

Description:

When young attorney Brendan Burke opens his first law practice in a new city, he Criminal_Pleasuresknows things are about to change in his life—though he never expected one of those things to be his sexual orientation. But when he meets Marcello, a sexy and mysterious stranger working at a restaurant in Providence’s Little Italy, he can’t fight his compulsion to pursue him. But while Marcello is willing to let Brendan into his bedroom, he’s stubbornly elusive about his past and his family. Fixated on discovering the truth, Brendan’s passion for Marcello turns out to be far more dangerous than he ever anticipated.

My Thoughts:

This was definitely some delicious reading (with lots of yummy sex scenes)! I loved Brendan and Marcello, who prefers to be called Marc. Hmm…I’m having issues writing a review since there is a twist pretty early on that I don’t want to spoil. Needless to say, Brendan is immediately enamored with Marc. Much to his delight, he learns that Marc feels the same. Well, this doesn’t happen right away. Marc comes off as an indecisive asshole at the start.

So, the twist is a nice surprise. I like where it leads for the two guys. In fact, their relationship is really taking off when they plan a weekend away at a cottage on Cape Cod. Enter another incident in the story (again, I don’t want to spoil it). This triggers other things – namely that I want to smack Marc upside his head.

Well, there are some more ups and downs for the guys before they get their HEA. Don’t worry… it happens. I do wish things with Brendan’s father could have been resolved, but maybe in the next book (hint, hint)!

One thing I really liked: how caring Marc was of Brendan. Before this relationship, Brendan had “fooled around” with guys, but never “gone all the way.” Marc made the experience really good for Brendan, and he was very patient with him.

My only complaint was that I wanted Brendan to be a stronger character. After the “thing” happens, I wasn’t pleased with how he freaked out. Otherwise, I really liked him and the chemistry he had with Marc.

This is my first read from this author. I will be back to read more!

Darien Cox can be found at http://dariencox.com/

4 out of 5 stars 

Leave a Reply

