Review: Slow Burn

This weekend I read Slow Burn by Sam B. Morgan. After reading (and loving A Rookie Move – I gave it 4.5 stars), I was eagerly awaiting Mr. Morgan’s next release. Glad that I didn’t have to wait too long! While I enjoyed Slow Burn, I didn’t love it like I did A Rookie Move. Don’t get me wrong, this is still a good, smexy read.

Description:

Slow_BurnDetective Douglas Brody has only ever known the life of a cop. Raised strict but fair by his police chief father, he joined the academy right out of school, climbed the ranks hard and fast, and now works homicide for the City of Charleston. The job is his entire life. For years it’s kept him happy enough to minimize the side of him that craves what he believes is wrong. An accident on the job puts him on medical leave and everything in Brody’s world changes. He has to prove himself once more to be best cop in the department, all while dealing with Zack – his persistent, sexy, and out of the closet physical therapist.

Zack is tan skin, big grins, floppy hair and tackles his job with the same full-blown enthusiasm he does everything else. When the “patient from hell” is thrown his way by another PT who can’t handle him, Zack is committed to achieving the impossible. His new patient is a head strong and hot as hell homicide detective, who oozes as much resentment as he does sex appeal. Any involvement with a patient, especially a man who is so deep in the closet he can’t see light, is something Zack swore he’d never do. But Brody slowly proves too much to resist…

I really enjoyed the dichotomy between Zack and Brody. Zack was Mr. Happy-Go-Lucky, Ray-of-Sunshine. I really enjoyed his character and his personality. Good ole Detective Brody, on the other hand, is Mr. Asshat-Grump-of-the-Century. I give Zack a lot of credit; the physical therapist was not put off by what met the eye. He found Brody a challenge to be conquered.

The story flowed well for me and kept me engaged. There wasn’t much in the way of angst/ drama, which is perfectly fine with me. Brody’s Strangler case had him very focused to the point of being consumed. I wish that we as the reader were given more information/ details about the case. I think it would have added to the depth of the story. I confess, too, that I was hoping Brody was going to share some of the case details with Zack and then Zack was going to help him find the missing piece. While it didn’t work that way (darn it! LOL), it still worked out well. I’m very happy, too, that Brody didn’t make the stupid horror movie mistake – let me do this ALL BY MYSELF when I KNOW danger is more than lurking right around the corner.

I don’t want to spoil the ending, but it wrapped up very nicely. I was kind of worried that what I wanted to happen wasn’t going to, but I just needed to be patient. It was taken care of in the Epilogue. Is that cryptic enough for you??

Okay, a bit of a spoiler . . . Brody and Zack were just beginning their lives together at the end of the story. I wouldn’t mind a follow-up to see how things go on the force for Brody and to see how he deals with accepting being out and gay (while not riding on a Pride float).

My one big gripe with this story was the editing mistakes. I expect better from Loose-Id. Spacing issues, misplaced quotation marks, and missing words had me frustrated. Zack and Brody and the hot, very steamy sex scenes kept me going. *wink*

Mr. Morgan can be found at http://sambmorgan.com

3.5 stars out of 5

Leave a Reply

