My Thoughts: A Hunted Man

I’ve been on a reading spree of late. I finished watching Burn Notice (for the second time), The Glades (what was up with the ending?!), and Teen Wolf (season 1 for I don’t know how many times) so I’ve been glued to my Kindle.

I started reading A Hunted Man yesterday and I finished reading it just before midnight. Yeah, I was up a bit past my bedtime! This is the second read in The Men of Halfway House series. Although I like Mark and Julian, I really liked this story – Cam and Hunter rocked!!

Blurb:

After surviving ten years in prison, Cameron Pierce is attempting to put the past behind him. He tries to adjust to his newfoundA_Hunted_Man freedom with a place at the halfway house and a job. But one lesson he learned in prison keeps him guarded: hope is a dangerous thing.

Hunter Donovan, Assistant State Attorney, is a man of justice who loves a challenge. After a lifetime of putting his career first, a milestone brings him to a harsh realization—he’s lonely.

Hunter’s world changes when he meets Cam. The wary young man intrigues him and awakens a desire unlike anything he’s ever experienced. When Cam’s past resurfaces and threatens to rip them apart, their budding relationship is challenged and Cam’s hope for a future begins to dim.

These outside forces hunting Cam will stop at nothing to send him back to prison. But they’ll have to get past Hunter first.

 ****

I’m actually struggling with writing a review. The reason has nothing to do with the quality of the story – it has more to do with the fact that I flew through the last part of the story because I was so afraid my Kindle battery was going to die on me at just the wrong time.

This story had action, a complex plot, hot sex scenes, and lots of glares from Julian. Hee hee. The supporting characters were great – I enjoyed Bill and Lucy as well as Aidan. Oh, and I can’t forget Hunter’s father – he was a hoot! Cole, as a new addition to Halfway House, cracked me up! He definitely has no filter!

Ms. Reese has said Cole’s story will be next, but she doesn’t have a title or timeline yet. I foresee Julian getting some gray hairs in that one!!

Hunter’s steadfastness and resolve really resonated with me in this story. I loved how devoted to Cam he was and how he wasn’t afraid to admit that he needed Cam just as much. The scenes in the diner were both touching and hot!

I feel like I’m starting to ramble about all the good parts of the book, and I don’t want to risk giving anything away.

You can find Ms. Reese at http://jaimereese.com/or on Goodreads.

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

