Night Series: Night Child

I totally stayed up past my bedtime last night so I could finish this one (‘this one’ being Night Child, Night #3). What an amazing read! Lisa Kessler has done a fabulous job of creating sexy, strong heroes with special abilities and then pairs them with equally strong and savvy women.

Issa and Muriah are the perfect match, even if it takes most of the book to convince stubborn Muriah. Issa is an incredibly powerful Walker who turns into a gorgeous black jaguar. Despite all his power and the length of time he’s been around (more than centuries and eons!), he can’t see inside Muriah’s mind.

I don’t want to spoil anything, but this book has it all—great characters (and yes, several of the past hotties come back to help); an intriguing, fast moving plot; a particularly evil villain in Apep (the god of Chaos, and boy does he have fun creating some); a wedding on the beach; a precarious and utterly crucial pregnancy (the survival of the mortal world depends on it–no pressure on Issa and Muriah *sarcasm*); a suspicious government agent who turns out to be so much more; some laugh-out-loud moments and some tear-shedding moments; gosh, what else?? I feel like I’m forgetting something… Oh, I am, and no way I am even hinting at it (would give way too much away).

Blurb:

A psychic gift…Night_Child

Muriah La Deaux’s latest job requires her to locate an ancient codex detailing a prophecy of an immortal birth. But before she can deliver it, her client is brutally murdered. Now a man with chaos in his eyes wants the codex she’s hiding.

An immortal child…

Issa is one of the original Night Walkers, a proud protector of the mortal world. Now, when the survival of his entire race rests on protecting an unborn child, Issa is the only immortal strong enough to protect Muriah on a risky mission—locate the lost scrolls that will trap their foe—but his tenuous grasp on his sanity is slipping.

The ultimate sacrifice…

Muriah’s headstrong spirit awakens feelings in Issa that are best left buried. But as the battle between love and chaos ensues, sacrifices must be made.

I’m going to share a couple of my favorite lines from the book. These could potentially contain spoilers. Consider yourself warned!! Read ahead if you dare…

Issa at 66%:

You are so beautiful, Muriah, so full of life and passion. The world came alive for me from the moment I saw your face. I am not ready to go back to being a spectator.

In the middle of them making love (67%):

He kissed her ear and whispered, “Only the beginning.”

She turned toward him with a sultry smile that made his immortal heart miss a beat. “You’re going to spoil me.”

“I hope so.”

Issa had a lot of great lines in this. Here’s another one (78%):

“I would move mountains for you.” His gaze held hers. “I would capture the stars just to see you smile. And I would give up everything in this world to keep you safe…”

One last sample of Issa, the romantic (who’d of thunk that about the god of sacrifice?!) at 86%:

“You are the light to my darkness. My heart, my soul, and now my blood, will all be yours.”

Okay, I haven’t given Muriah enough credit. I’ll share one of her good lines at 92%:

“Before you start wondering if Issa is holding me hostage or something, I happen to love him.” . . . “And if you simply write him off as the god of sacrifice and nothing more, then you are way off the mark. He’s got more courage, integrity, and heart than anyone I’ve ever met.”

****

I’m sure can tell with all this gushing, that I totally loved the story. 5 out of 5 stars!

Night Series (in reading order):

Night Thief (#0.5) is Kane and Rita’s story, which was set in Paris, and reads like a historical romance. I really enjoyed this one and read it quickly! 4 out of 5 stars!!

Night Walker (#1) is the story of Calisto and Kate. I actually read this before reading Night Thief. I have to say, I absolutely loved Calisto! I still swoon over that Night Walker. He is just too hot and yummy and sexy and oh, I’m sorry, I got distracted!! 4.5 stars out of  5 for this one!

Night Demon (#2) is Gretchen and Lukas’s story (they are also critical in Night Child). Of all the Night Walkers, Night_AngelI’d have to say Lukas is my least favorite (sorry, Lisa). Lukas struggled with his change, which was against his will. Gretchen is a sharp, savvy lady, and I really liked her. This book also introduces to the gods of the North, South, East, and West. Great lore!! Plus, there’s more Calisto and Kane – yay!! Such a well constructed story and engaging read – 5 out of 5 stars!

Night Angel (#2.5) — I missed one?!! I wondered why I didn’t remember Colin’s story. Well, duh, this would be why. *shakes head* I need to remedy this situation right away!

Night Child (#3) — a fitting ending to a wonderful series. 5 out of 5 stars!

My wish for Night 3.5 would be Zafrina and Lori’s story…come on, Lisa, it would be a great novella!! *grins* I mean, after an exchange like this (at 83%) you can’t leave us hanging *wink*

Zafrina moved closer and tucked a stray lock of hair behind Lori’s ear. “You were right.” She searched her gaze and whispered, “Would a kiss upset you?”

“I’ve never kissed another woman.”

“That was not what I asked.”

. . .

“There is one way to find out.” Zafrina brushed her lips against Lori’s, reveling in their softness. She breathed her in as Lori responded, returning the kiss.

You can follow Lisa on Twitter @LdyDisney or visit her website here: http://www.authorlisakessler.com/

2 thoughts on “Night Series: Night Child

  1. Thanks for reviewing Night Child! 🙂

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the book! And I hope you have fun with Night Angel too! Colin and Juliana’s novella was a blast to write!

    Lisa 🙂

Leave a Reply

